COMING SOON! Check back for details on the 2019 AFW Awards Luncheon, coming up in March 2019.


2018 Sandra Day O'Connor Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree: Ashley Judd

The annual Awards Luncheon helps support the grant-making for local women-focused nonprofits and general operations for the foundation. Each year the Board of Directors identifies individuals who are leading the way in changing the status of Women in Arizona or around the world. The Sandra Day O’Connor Lifetime Achievement, Voice of Women and Marilyn R. Seymann Awards, are presented independently to three worthy individuals who exemplify that change. 

This year's Sandra Day O'Connor Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree is two-time Golden Globe nominated actress, humanitarian and author Ashley Judd. Ms. Judd is known for her roles in highly successful movies such as Kiss the Girls, Eye of the Beholder, Someone Like You, and Double Jeopardy. And most notably, Arizona Foundation for Women is recognizing Ms. Judd for her philanthropic and activist work around women’s health, rights and equality, and helping those living with AIDS around the world.

Dr. Snyder Pic 3.jpg

2018 Marilyn R. Seymann Award Recipient: Dr. Ken Snyder

Dr. Ken Snyder has been the Dental Director and 'Kid's Dentist' at the St. Vincent Dental Clinic and their satellite Children's Program at the Chandler Care Center for the last 22 years. St. Vincent de Paul has a dental assisting program for women who are victims of domestic violence to provide them with a career path and help them transition back into society.The Clinic has created the "Mother's Kiss Program" where women's shelters and community centers can refer pregnant women so that their oral health can be restored before the child is born to ensure a healthy baby.

Jen Welter.jpg

2018 Voice of Women Award Recipient: Dr. Jen Welter

Dr. Jen Welter is the first female to coach in the NFL and the first woman to play running back in a men's professional football league. Prior to entering men's professional football, Welter had a 14-year career in women's professional football, where she earned four National Championships and two gold members as a member of Team USA in the International Federation of American Football's Women's World Championship. She has also created a range of camps for girls and women.

2018 Co-Chairs

Ruby Farias and Patricia Garrity

2018 AFW Angels

Arizona Foundation for Women's annual luncheon is produced by the AFW Angels. Click here for more information on this group.

Patricia Garrity

Felice Appell

Lee Courtney

Valerie Crosby

Ruby Farias

Kim Hartmann

Belen Konesky

Dottie Kobik

Kathy Kotin

Jodi Liggett

Chevera Trillo

Elizabeth Muncal

Susan Thrasher

Missy Turner


Sandra Day O'Connor Lifetime Achievement Award

1997 Honorable Sandra Day O'Connor

1998 Elizabeth Dole

1999 Tipper Gore

2000 Marian Wright Edelman

2001 Erin Brockovich

2002 Barbara Bush

2003 Sally Ride

2004 Yvonne Fedderson and Sara O'Meara

2005 Pat Mitchell

2006 Marlo Thomas

2007 Laura Bush

2008 Janet Napolitano

2009 Madeleine K. Albright

2010 Andrea Jung

2011 Billie Jean King

2012 Frances Hesselbein

2013 Goldie Hawn

2014 Marilyn Carlson Nelson

2015 Cindy Hensley McCain

2016 Maria Shriver

2018 Ashley Judd


Voice of Women Award

2003 Lesley Jane Seymour

2004 Carole Black

2005 Eve Ensler

2006 Sally Field

2007 Elizabeth Lee Vliet, M.D.

2008 Anna Deavere Smith

2009 Victoria Rowell

2010 Tea Leoni

2011 Eileen Fisher

2012 Ambassador Barbara Barrett

2013 Ernie Allen

2014 Ambassador Swanee Hunt

2015 Congresswoman Linda Smith

2016 Bruce Arians

2018 Dr. Jen Welter

Marilyn R. Seymann Award

2001 Marilyn R. Seymann

2003 Cramer-Krasselt

2004 Linda Pope

2005 Patti Naughton

2006 Deborah G. Carstens

2007 MonaLou Callery

2008 Jeanne L. Herberger

2009 Honorable Ruth McGregor

2010 Diane Halle

2011 Sergeant Chris Bray

2012 Tamara Woodbury

2013 Missy Anderson

2014 Michelle King Robson

2015 Honorable Rebecca White Berch

2016 Kendis Muscheid

2018 Dr. Ken Snyder